Changing careers | PASOTI
  • This site is sponsored by Lang & Potter.

Changing careers

American Pilgrim

🇺🇸🇺🇸🇺🇸🇺🇸🇺🇸🇺🇸
Mar 18, 2023
USA
How has this worked out for those on here who have done it?If you don't mind sharing but in no way have to,what is your current career and are you happy in it?

I have been a teacher for several years now at the middle school level(6th-8th grades)and I have enjoyed it immensely but I think it is time for me to look for pastures new if you will.

I have a Master's degree in psychology and I really want to become involved with scientific/psychological studies in a college setting.Have always been fascinated with study groups and such.A research assistant position is open near me and I feel confident I can get it while working on a doctorate.

So in essence still be in education per say but not totally.

Thought long and hard about this and think it's the best move for me.

Jan 12, 2020
I'm retired now, but I changed career twice. I was a teacher, left it to work in the Computer industry, then after a few years went back to teaching. In my case I think I never really found what you might call the perfect job for me (if there was such a thing!)
My advice to you would be ... go for it, but make sure you've thought through the pros and cons. I think maybe if you don't, you may look back and think "what if?".
Hope that helps.

Reactions: American Pilgrim

Adam

Pasoti Designer
✅ Evergreen
✨Pasoti Donor✨
🌟Sparksy Mural🌟
Apr 5, 2010
Hi @American Pilgrim, I was a teacher too and swapped careers.

So just a little bit of advice, If you may permit me to drop some….leaving teaching is quite difficult, well I found it difficult anyway.

After having a routine of 5 lessons a day, 150 kids a day, these are your set break and lunch times, this is your set holiday etc, I found it hard to have a little bit of ‘freedom’. It took me a long while to get used to that.