Banter or Hate Crime? | PASOTI
  • This site is sponsored by Lang & Potter.

Banter or Hate Crime?

CovJet

⚪️ Pasoti Visitor ⚪️
Jul 12, 2023
Dear Pilgrims,

I’m a Wolves fan – coming in peace and hoping you can help me out…

But before I do, let me congratulate you on an amazing season. I’m sure you can’t wait to host Huddersfield in a few weeks-time!

I’m a senior Lecturer at Birmingham City University, writing academic papers as part of my PhD portfolio (Koln University). My research has a focus on the language used by football fans at games – for some people it’s ‘banter’ and for others, it has become a ‘hate crime’. It is a complex, emotive issue.

I want to find out what you think of the language used – I want you to be honest.

The questionnaire is entirely voluntary and completely anonymous. I will only use the data I obtain for academic papers and once complete I will share the data with you on this forum. I have ethical approval granted from Koln University and approval from your administrator for this forum.

I will be comparing your answers with those from supporters of Arsenal, Watford, Wolves, Ipswich and Newcastle.

The questionnaire should only take you a couple of minutes and I would like to thank you in advance. Here is the link:

Kind regards,

Peter Evans

SurreyJanner

⚽️ Player Sponsor ⚽️
Auction Winner 👨‍⚖️
Apr 30, 2015
Dear Pilgrims,

I’m a Wolves fan – coming in peace and hoping you can help me out…

But before I do, let me congratulate you on an amazing season. I’m sure you can’t wait to host Huddersfield in a few weeks-time!

I’m a senior Lecturer at Birmingham City University, writing academic papers as part of my PhD portfolio (Koln University). My research has a focus on the language used by football fans at games – for some people it’s ‘banter’ and for others, it has become a ‘hate crime’. It is a complex, emotive issue.

I want to find out what you think of the language used – I want you to be honest.