Need for the city’s infrastucture to be improved, holding Argyle back. | Page 7 | PASOTI
  • This site is sponsored by Lang & Potter.

Need for the city’s infrastucture to be improved, holding Argyle back.

Jul 18, 2011
Genuine question - why don't ships want to come alongside here? As a total layman, I would have thought it is much easier for their passengers to disembark. I always thought trying to get a cruise line to start trips here would do wonders for the economy with guests staying pre/post.
Transport links. Southampton is on the end of a motorway from London, has frequent quick trains to London and has a small but great to use airport. Many of the passengers embarking and disembarking are Americans too and it’s much easier to use than Plymouth.

Reactions: Drake

Kevin Pedlar

Cream First
✅ Evergreen
Jul 28, 2010
Plymouth
Yes - the club need to improve their own infrastructure and yes , we desperately need new investment for new players and ultimately get the ground capacity to 25,000.
BUT
I really think the chairman and board need to really start exerting some influence regards the city itself towards the council and local politicians.

We are forever held back with such poor transport links,terrible shopping centre and not cashing in on the waterfront potential. We need to become a major destination city to attract and retain good players and management, keep attracting large number of away supporters to the matches and generally kick start the huge potential to attract more events and make the city and club more high profile.

This city still needs an airport!!!
The current transport links are terrible and we remain so isolated and difficult to reach other parts of the country. This definitely impacts on players and staff staying here, as we have seen this season.As an example, Plymouth to the North West is a nightmare by road and current public transport offered.