Written Press | PASOTI
  • Welcome to PASOTI. Sponsored by Lang & Potter

Written Press

N

NorfolkGreen

I was curious to know if the written press, those who report on football, go through any football related training or qualifications to enable them to pass judgement on the results and performances of teams?

A

ArgyleAndy

Reporters don't have to have any football related qualifications or training.

They're just football fans like anyone else. I did a Sports Journalism degree at uni but I think the most successful way of gaining a sports journalism related qualification is to go on a NCTJ course: http://www.nctj.com/journalism-qualific ... rse-search?

A

ArgyleAndy

I also find it very frustrating how I struggled to get a job once I finished my course, knowing how poorly the Argyle OS is and how bad they communicate with fans through social media.

N

NorfolkGreen

I'm surprised the various managers, who might be a bit more prickly, don't respond to journalists by asking why they feel qualified to point out tactical and technical points in the game, when in fact they have no technical background in the subject.

Biggs

Administrator
Staff member
✅ Evergreen
🎫 S.T. Donor 🎫
✨Pasoti Donor✨
🌟Sparksy Mural🌟
Feb 14, 2010
Plymouth/London
ArgyleAndy":1wt3ozl1 said:
I also find it very frustrating how I struggled to get a job once I finished my course, knowing how poorly the Argyle OS is and how bad they communicate with fans through social media.

Apart from all those awards they've got, and for the excellent programme too.

Generally journalism is an ultra, ultra competitive workplace now. Made even more so by the added competition of the internet, and local and national papers closing down everywhere.